Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here we are. The night before many of us go back to work after two-ish weeks of vacation. The rich food, abundant bubbly, and fire crackling couch time with friends and family soon to be replaced by the austère world of the 9 to 5.

It’s official. I’ve got the post-vacation blues.

On a walk through a snowstorm on this crispy white Sunday afternoon, the unsettling anxiety started setting in, nothing physically altered but somehow feeling like I was crawling out of my skin.

“OHMYGOD how am I going to get back to New York and get all my work down and make sure my events are planned and start my course content creation for the summer and organize interviews and go on three dates and then leave for travel next Monday and clean my apartment. AHH”

So what’s the cure to this holiday edition track of the post vacation blues. I’m trying three things:

Gratitude
My holiday was countless laughs with family and friends, more than one raucous dance party with my cousins, morning snuggles with parents and puppies, a beautiful diamond necklace gift, and at least five of the fluffiest omelettes you’ve ever laid eyes or fork on (THANKS MOM!). As the days are polished by the grindstone of daily life, I’m reminding myself to look back with a smile and a big thanks for these cherishable moments.

Fun
While I’m sad to leave my family, I have a lot to look forward to. A roomate who has been traipsing Europe, amazing co-workers I can’t wait to see, and a couple of dates with potentially promising online suitors. Another key is to mentally and deliberately plan things to look forward to in the week. Topping my list are: three dollar happy hour drinks at a favorite West Village  bar, walking the Hudson at sunset, and the only-in-New York goodness of a $20 manicure-massage combo. Big Apple, see ya’ soon!

Journey
As I was packing, my mind raced with the minutiae of tasks needing to be done over the coming weeks. But as I thought ahead, the list seemingly never ended. In work (and life, I suppose) we never really get there, do we? Once one thing is completed another looms on the horizon, happy to corner our focus and anxiety. But what about just enjoying the journey, the day as it comes, leaving angst and doubt behind. This is a lofty goal, but I know it’s one of the keys of happiness. I’m by no means saying I’m an expert. I’m not even slightly good at this 96% of the time. But tomorrow I vow to enjoy communicating with the engineers I need to confirm for my events, and not look to next week with anxiety, wondering if students will show up to my events. Enjoy the journey, because once you hit the destination you’ll already be on your way to somewhere new.

So here we are. I just paused to sip a last glass of celebratory end of vacation champagne with my mom. And while it’s almost officially over, let’s make one last toast.

Cheers to 2014. To times gone by, good things past, and those yet to come.

